2022 College World Series Preview: The SEC, Texas leads the field of eight teams

The 2022 College World Series will begin on Friday at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha. Although CWS is growing in popularity, attracting more and more attention and attention, it is still unknown to some by chance. So in light of the ongoing interest in being there for those who have nowhere to go, we’ve put together a brief overview of this year’s CWS. Better yet, we’ve done it through the usual FAQ format that distinguishes ancient sacred texts. First question:

Shall we start?


Now to the rest of the questions.

How does the College World Series work?

The last eight standing teams in the NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament travel to Omahara each year for the College World Series. The format is simple: it’s a double knockout, until the pitch falls to two teams. At that point, the boards are cleared, and these last two teams play the best series of three for the national tournament.

Which eight teams are there this year?

To prevent network outrage, we’ll list these eight groups in alphabetical order. This year’s CWS participants include Arkansas, Auburn, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Ole Miss, Stanford, Texas and Texas A&M. Half of this year’s CWS field comes from the SEC, which is reasonable to say that the SEC is by far the strongest (and longest-running) baseball conference in college. Note that two other 2022 CWS groups – Oklahoma and Texas – will join the SEC, most likely in 2024.

How did these eight groups get to Omahara?

First of all, here’s how the first two “rounds” of the 64th team of the NCAA DI Baseball Championship, known as regional and superregional, work. At the regional level, 64 teams – 31 offer automatic conference tournaments and 33 participants in general – are divided into 16 regions with four teams. The regionals are a double knockout format, with only one team left in each of these 16 stretches. These 16 groups are paired up and promoted to the superregionals. The Superregionals are the top three series, and the winner of each is up for the College World Series.

Here’s how this year’s eight CWS teams arrived in Omahara:

  • Arkansas: Advanced from the Stillwater region, which also included Oklahoma State, Missouri State, and the Grand Canyon. He defeated North Carolina in the super region.
  • Auburn: It also included the state of Florida, UCLA, and southeastern Louisiana from the Auburn County. He defeated the State of Oregon in the super region.
  • Our Lady: Advanced in the Statesboro region, which includes Southern Georgia, Texas Tech and UNC-Greensboro. He defeated Tennessee in the super region.
  • Oklahoma: Also included Florida, Central Michigan, and Liberty from the Gainesville region. Virginia Tech has been defeated in the super region.
  • Ole miss: Also included Miami-FL, Arizona, and Canisius from the Coral Gables region. He defeated Southern Mississippi in the super region.
  • Stanford: Advanced Stanford County, which also includes UC-Santa Barbara, Texas State and Binghamton. He defeated UConn in the super region.
  • Texas: Advanced Austin region, which also included the Air Force, Louisiana Tech, and Dallas Baptist. He defeated East Carolina in the super region.
  • Texas A&M: Advanced College Station region, which also included TCU, Oral Roberts, and Louisiana. He defeated Louisville in the super region.

Didn’t get any notable teams?

Yes: Mississippi State and Tennessee. Mississippi State is the current national champion, but this season they have fallen far short of expectations and have not even entered the field of 64. This means that we have not yet been a repeat national champion since South Carolina won everything in 2010 and 2011. .

This year, too, Omahat is not Tennessee, which entered the championship as the first overall pick. Given that they went 57-9 while playing in the SEC this season, if the Volunteers had won everything they would probably be remembered as one of the greatest teams of all time. Instead, Notre Dame stunned them in three super-regional games.

What is the program?

For beginning games, this is:

ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPNU games can be played fuboTV (try for free).

Friday, June 17th

  • Oklahoma Vs. Texas A&M, 2 pm ET, ESPN
  • Notre Dame vs. Texas, 7 p.m. ET, ESPN

Saturday, June 18th

  • Arkansas vs. Stanford, 2 p.m. ET, ESPN
  • Ole Miss vs Auburn, 7pm ET, ESPN2

More organization is needed from Sunday to Thursday, followed by the final series of the top three starting with Game 1 on Saturday, June 25 at 6pm CST. Match 2 will be played on Sunday, June 26, at 2:00 p.m., and match 3 on Monday, June 27, at 6:00 p.m., CST. All final matches will be broadcast on ESPN.

Any outstanding MLB sketches in this CWS this time around?

Our RJ Anderson has it CWS has delved into the best or least interesting outline of each groupso we will show you his direction for the full study. For a taste, though, here are the names to know and when they can hear the name when the MLB Draft comes down on July 17th.

  • Arkansas: Cayden Wallace, 3B / OF
  • Auburn: Sonny DiChiara, 1B
  • Our Lady: Jack Brannigan, 3B / RHP
  • Oklahoma: Peyton Graham, SS
  • Ole Miss: Hayden Dunhurst, C
  • Stanford: Brock Jones, OF
  • Texas: Ivan Melendez, 1B
  • Texas A&M: Trevor Werner, 3B

For pure entertainment, we’ll go with DiChiara and Melendez’s power screens.

Who is the favorite to win it all?

As a short guide, here are the odds of CWS via Caesars Sportsbook:

  • Texas: +350
  • Stanford: +450
  • Our Lady: +500
  • Arkansas: +650
  • Auburn: +750
  • Oklahoma: +800
  • Miss Ole: +850
  • Texas A&M: +900

Texas was the 1st team to agree to the season, so it’s no surprise to see them on this special pile. Really, though, this is baseball, and there’s a lot of structural parity, because none of those teams are in Omaha. So get ready for an exciting week of baseball in college.

Leave a Comment